VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
6,943 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have gotten a bunch of requests on a write up of how to do this:

i am not the 1st person to do this, i got the idea from landrumdh
this is a cheap alternative to getting one of the expensive aftermarket "homelink" type systems.

I have a liftmaster garage door opener with 3 buttons on the outside. the circuit board is very small and just the right size to fit in the hole when you take out one of your switch blanks. This may vary upon what make and model garage door opener you have.
the CB (circuit board) inside the opener looks like this:

it is very easy to take apart, you just pop the 2 plastic halves apart and there it is.
you can see the button that is pressed to actually open and close the door. it is marked on the CB by "S3" the other buttons are for turning the light on and off and are really not features i use on my remote. you COULD if you wanted to, hook a button to each one.
i got a momentary pushbutton from Radio Shack for a couple dollars. That looks like this:

it mounts in a 1/2" hole.
then i took 2 pieces of wire about 4" in length and soldered them to the back of the CB where the button is mounted on the CB. you can test the button by just holding the bare ends of the wire to the back of the CB and seeing if it opens/closes the door.
here is a pic of the back you can see the 4 points that the button is mounted to the CB, you only need to hook the wires to 2 of them:

i took out the blank switch bezel and took a 3/4" bit and drilled a hole in the center of it. the button is supposed to mount in a 1/2" hole, but i did not have a 1/2" bit so i had to file out the hole some until the button fit right in. with the button mounted in the blank switch bezel i then soldered the other end of the wire to the two little metal prongs on the radio shack switch. and i ended up with this: