VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 646 Posts

·
Registered
5,189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone,

I wanted to introduce myself to the Passat community, as I have just purchased a 2008 Passat Wagon. I have been researching the car for about 1-2 months, and have even done a bit of posting in the B6 forums. I am not new to the vw thing, ive been to 3 h20's, owned and still own my big turbo, shaved bay jetta mkiv since late 2007, and am with my beautiful g/f who also owns a mkiv gti. I try to learn as much as I can and I have met some great people through this hobby. I dont plan on stopping anytime soon, and im hoping to expand my relations on to you guys. Most of you I've talked to have already been extremely helpful, so thank you. Moving on to the car...

I have always had a soft spot for vw wagons and Audi Avants, idk what it is, but their shape has such a nice set of lines and sporty look to it when executed well. Once I saw how affordable these things are second hand now, I started to dig deeper and got hooked.

Last Saturday, after checking out a local wagon, I drove up to Madison Wisconsin and test drove, then purchased my new baby...

She is a 2008 Wagon, 3.6L 4mo. Sport seats, Alum trim, 18 Samarkands, shift paddles, parking assist. All stock options, and it is Certified Pre-Owned vw. Came with floormatts, monster matts, gorilla gear, and a full size spare. Brand new tires and brakes too to top it off. So far I cannot get enough of this thing...

The driving experience in this blew me away. The transmission and powerband are smooth and strong, and the car barely feels like a wagon when you are driving it. No terrible blind spots, no heavy washy feel to the steering. All I could say is "wow" as I drove it home from the dealer. My favorite part of this car is the power + sound of the 3.6, and the interior quality/fit+finish. At night is a real mood enhancer, and has made driving enjoyable for me again.