VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
3,130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im tossing the idea around in my head of selling my custom stand up jetski since i moved off the lake this year. I have no other expenses to pay, I dont need commentary on how I should save this money for later, blah, blahh:rolleyes: Im happy with how my car looks, just not how it runs. My current 8v is on its last leg (or atleast the head\rings are anyways) blowing blue smoke out every startup.
Im wanting to sway away from vr6's just because I dont want to fiddle with electronics because Im not that good at wiring, and I dont want to mess with all the other stuff for a swap. Im thinking of a built 16v with carb's or a turbo'ed 16v but im not so sure $5k will complete that need. Im comfortable with swapping the motor myself and hooking everything up and tinkering, no need to pay someone. can 5k get you a lot in vw world?

pics for clicks

· Registered
14,285 Posts
Im wanting to sway away from vr6's just because I dont want to fiddle with electronics because Im not that good at wiring, and I dont want to mess with all the other stuff for a swap. Im thinking of a built 16v with carb's or a turbo'ed 16v

uhm, vr6 = plug and play, built 16v on carbs serious wiring, to get it running right youll need megasquirt or some other stand alone set up.

that being said $5k could build you a very nice motor.

· Registered
3,130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
uhm, vr6 = plug and play, built 16v on carbs serious wiring, to get it running right youll need megasquirt or some other stand alone set up.

that being said $5k could build you a very nice motor.
maybe its just me, but im pretty sure you dont need any type of ecu or stand alone setup when running carbs, just an aftermarket ignition (msd 6al) & new fuel pump and regulator.

· Registered
5,442 Posts
16v turbo would be the best bang for your buck.
aba bottom end. anywhere on the cheap!