VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I just got my 07 VW GLI Jetta with the 6 disc cd change stereo and SAT, I was wondering if theres anyway I can install my Amp to this without having to get another stereo because this stereo is pretty nice and I dont want to lose the SAT and cd changer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
409 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? ([email protected])

Does this adapter allow you to continue to use the factory wiring and speakers while adding RCAs for additional amps (like for a line-level basslink install)? Or does it totally disable the speaker-level outputs and replace them with line-level RCAs?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
868 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? (Dav)

you can continue to use the factory speakers and factory speaker wiring http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
868 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? (brodieorourke)

Quote, originally posted by brodieorourke »
I have a 2000 VW Jetta, Will this converter work on my stock stereo? If not, is there one that would?

that particular unit is made to fit the 2002+ radio connections of the factory double din radios and the later mk5 radios
what exacty would you like to do with your car?
are you adding a sub, or are you going to amplify the entire system?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
734 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? ([email protected])

I just want to clarify before I purchase: I would use this to integrate an amp to power my subwoofer with my stock radio. Your website shows an end date of 2007, but there's no difference for the 2008 model, correct? If so, then I'm sold.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
868 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? (GeeTeeIzzle)

Quote, originally posted by GeeTeeIzzle »
I Your website shows an end date of 2007, but there's no difference for the 2008 model, correct? If so, then I'm sold.

this product will fit your 2008 just fine http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? ([email protected])

I was wondering if this would be possible with a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee with the Boston Acoustic speaker system? Its got the standard 6 cd in-dash HU, along with Sirius Sat radio and I dont want to get rid of it.
What exactly do I need to get my amp/sub to work with the stock HU?
And do you know of any sites that show how to remove the dash? I did it by myself with my old truck(where the sub/amp used to be), but I have no idea how to do it on the jeep.
Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
680 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? (Havoc1)

I used the Metra adapter from Enfig and lost my Ipod AUX IN function in my glovebox.... dunno if you guys care but losing this feature can be important for some people.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
868 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? (TDipowered)

Quote, originally posted by TDipowered »
I used the Metra adapter from Enfig and lost my Ipod AUX IN function in my glovebox.... dunno if you guys care but losing this feature can be important for some people.

the harness wil keep all factory installed componets, I assure you
what you need to do is transfer the aux input blue plug from the male connector of the factory radio plug to the male connector of the metra harness so that the aux plug connects directly to the radio and you loose no functionality
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? ([email protected])

I'm going to install a W6 JL and amp up to my stock deck (03 GTI). I know I need the Metra Metra 74-9003 adapter, but what other wires do I need? I've never installed a system before, so I'm trying to get a basic system thats affordable. Are there any complete wiring kits for the entire install? Thanks, I'm kinda a NewB.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
506 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? (03BLuGHost)

Hi, This sounds like its exactly what I'm looking for...
I have an 07 rabbit and would lov eto put a sub in the system, perhaps the stealthbox or other single 10 or 12" sub to add some punch.
So to be clear, I would still retain all functionality of my factory speakers, and the aux input which I use the hell out of? by the way, I'd love to stop by I'm in north jersey quite often.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
259 Posts
question:
i would like to keep the stock Head Unit, 6-disk changer, and amp thats in my 2000 Jetta.
i would like to remove the 2 speakers in the 2 rear doors and replace them with 6.5" subs. then have a single 12" in the trunk.
what would i have to do to get this to work?
thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,093 Posts
Re: Install Subwoofer and Amp with Factory Stereo? ([email protected])

Quote, originally posted by [email protected] »
yes you can, you'll want to use this adpater:
http://enfigcarstereo.com/shop....html

you'll then connect whatever amps you'd like to the 4 RCA outputs http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif

looks nice. just wondering, what connections are needed? i see a black and blue wire... power and ground?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
868 Posts
the bule wire is the amp turn on line, you can connect it from your fuse box to your amp to turn it on and off with the car if you amp doesn't have a auto turn on feature, the other wires are optional audio ground which can be grounded in som cases to improve sound (you won't need to do that)
 
1 - 20 of 46 Posts
Top