VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 19 AT, SE, DSG. Before I invest in a few hundred bucks in tools, I thought I’d ask the do-it-yourself community and the I-take-it-to-my-service-station community whether or not you think doing your own basic maintenance is worth the $ and the time? “Worth it” could mean worth it cause you save $, or “worth it” could mean you do your own basic maintenance because you simply enjoy tinkering in your garage. So before I start doing my own oil changes, rotating my own tires, replacing my own filters, etc, and investing in the tools it takes, I thought I’d ask what y’all think. .

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Abso-frickin-lutely.

You need those same tools to repair anything else in life. Have them. Use them. Really not many specialized tools required just for VW services. Triple square bits for the tricky work, thats really it.

Personally, as an OCD mechanical engineer, I cannot trust joe-bob down at jiffy lube to use the correct lubricants, torque values, or attention to detail that I can. Or at least if I miss something, I have no one to blame but myself.

Paying hundreds of extra dollars, and the inconvenience of getting a ride to car drop-off/pick-up, is not for me.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I've never found a shop I trust. I'm a cheap bastard. I hate making and waiting for appointments.

I will do my own work for as long as I can.

Things I take (or would take) my cars in for:

Alignments
Tires
Transmission Rebuild
Body Work

·
Registered
2,188 Posts
Only thing I haven't tackled on my own has been a TB job on my old TDI, it was a bitter sweet $1200 check but i slept alright until VW bought it back.

Even if you want to say do your own oil change or some basic stuff, I would recommend a proper VW code reader to all owners, just so you know what's going on before you make an appointment. Knowledge of possible issues is well worth the cost of a VW specific tool.