VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
36,788 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this "Surging"?

Let me first start off by saying, I miss my VR6.

Secondly, whenever it's cold out (epscially now and before the engine really warms up), when I'm at half throttle in 2nd or 3rd gear, the car shakes like crazy. It's like I'm taking my foot off the gas and flooring it super fast. It's so bad that my head even moves back and forth.
Once it warms up though, it's not as bad, but it still does it. Under full throttle I can't really tell....
Any ideas?

- Anthony

·
Registered
31,002 Posts
Re: Is this "Surging"? (adg44)

That's not surge. Check the FAQ for what surge is.
It's just a nuance of the car. But I remember my VR also being "sputtery" when you get into the throttle too much on a cold engine.

·
Registered
5,670 Posts

since I am new to cars I don't know ... but I read something in some other post about "retarded-timing" if the engine is cold ... whatever that means

maybe that will help

·
Premium Member
36,788 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Re: Is this "Surging"? (Jman5000)

quote:[HR][/HR]That's not surge. Check the FAQ for what surge is.
It's just a nuance of the car. But I remember my VR also being "sputtery" when you get into the throttle too much on a cold engine.[HR][/HR]​
I did read the FAQ about surging.... from what they describe this sounds similar.
Next time I'll try just using stock mode on my chip when it's cold out and see if that helps.
I didn't notice any sputtering with the VR6 when it was cold, unless you just reved it in neutral right after you started it, then it backfired like crazy.

·
Registered
31,002 Posts

quote:[HR][/HR]I did read the FAQ about surging.... from what they describe this sounds similar. [HR][/HR]​