VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6,815 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How would one go about getting one? This is what I've always wanted to do. I am a strong writer, so I could write articles, and then get to test all the awesome cars!
Anyone have any ideas? I know SOMEONE from EuroTuner is on here, maybe shed some light on the criteria?

·
Registered
893 Posts
Ive often thought about going to school for this, but I ended goin the engineering route. Id love to have a job in the auto mag industry, especially Car and Driver

·
Registered
1,091 Posts
I remember reading somewhere that a Masters in M.E. is required, as well as some experience in journalism or an English minor. I would imagine that most leading magazines could be as choosy as they wish. Good luck.

·
2011 BMW 328i xDrive Touring 6MT ZSP
48,554 Posts
Re: (nuxx)

Quote, originally posted by nuxx »
I remember reading somewhere that a Masters in M.E. is required, as well as some experience in journalism or an English minor. I would imagine that most leading magazines could be as choosy as they wish. Good luck.

I doubt that an ME degree is REQUIRED although it certainly helps.

·
Registered
'20 Kia Telluride SX, '17 Mazda CX-5, '07 Airstream Safari SE 23'
11,090 Posts
Re: ([email protected])

An ME degree isn't required, although it sure does help. What seems to help more is to offer to work for a car magazine as an unpaid intern for a while. Obviously, the ability to write, and having some published articles out there, helps a lot too.
I know 3 former car magazine writers who now work for us, and all would tell you that the job isn't all it's cracked up to be - lots of ghost-writing for the engineers, endless travel for mundane new car introductions, endless marketing drivel, and quite a few really egotistical personalities....
Tom

·
Registered
10,117 Posts
Re: (mutcth)

Quote, originally posted by mutcth »