VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
14,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going OS later this year.....
Should I keep the Vento, or
Make inquiries about shipping back a Mk3 Golf Variant Syncro.......
(before you mock, remember, I am a drummer by trade......)
Imagine a 1.8t powered 140kw AWD Golf Wagon...... mmmmmmmmmmmmm.......

· Registered
31,040 Posts
Re: Keep the Vento, Or...... (Stevemk2gti)

That sounds good in theory Steve, but have you done you car importing homework? From the brief stuff I have checked from the customs website it seems pretty damn hard to import a car yourself.
http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif
That would be one nice wagon though!

· Registered
14,490 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Re: Keep the Vento, Or...... (act:GTI)

Thats food for thought..... I love the way government documents are so easy to understand....
I think I could pick up a Variant for about 3500, and a syncro for 4-4500 pounds, so already that isnt too much..... I know shipping will cost about $5000, unless someone wants to share a container with me..... Then I have to pay inspection costs, 15% landing tax, and then 10% GST on total, if they let me..... A lot of work, but it would be bloody rare.
I messed with a photo of one in photoshop and put RS4 wheels on it. Mmmmm It looks good, but a little dodgy.....

· Registered
5,603 Posts

Quote, originally posted by Stevemk2gti »
Thats food for thought..... I love the way government documents are so easy to understand....
I think I could pick up a Variant for about 3500, and a syncro for 4-4500 pounds, so already that isnt too much..... I know shipping will cost about $5000, unless someone wants to share a container with me..... Then I have to pay inspection costs, 15% landing tax, and then 10% GST on total, if they let me..... A lot of work, but it would be bloody rare.