VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking for a passat variant but test drove a 1999 A-4 avant wagon w/stick and loved it ... except that when I let off the accelerator (moderately strong acceleration situation) the car experienced a severe jerk like there was slack in the drive line. I found a very mild case of this when test driving suburu outbacks. I know nothing about audi so I have no background on this. The car had 60K miles. Can anybody offer thoughts as to whether this is normal or fixable?? Thanks

·
Registered
187 Posts
Re: Let off accelerator & car jerks, is this normal - 99' avant A-4 (wishen4a1.8T)

Is the car a 1.8T? If it is I wonder if the car has an aftermarket chip because I have heard that some chips can cause that "on/off" boost feel. Did you hit the accelerator hard and let of quick when this happened? I have heard that this can be caused by the internal wastegates in ability to deal with the sudden exposure to quick boost release. A good chip will back boost off over a time period and not "slam" the wastegate.

·
Registered
350 Posts
Re: Let off accelerator & car jerks, is this normal - 99' avant A-4 (wishen4a1.8T)

Mine does the same thing 97 A4 quattro 1.8t with no chip. I have been told it is most likely the motor/tranny mounts. Im going in on the 14th to have it fixed. I will update when i know the cost.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
Re: Let off accelerator & car jerks, is this normal - 99' avant A-4 (A418t97)

FYI..
My car did that the day before my transmission blew.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Re: Let off accelerator & car jerks, is this normal - 99' avant A-4 (Subtle)

quote:[HR][/HR]FYI..
My car did that the day before my transmission blew.[HR][/HR]​
That's not very reassuring.

·
Registered
10,053 Posts
Re: Let off accelerator & car jerks, is this normal - 99' avant A-4 (risc427)