1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
PMLyf's Jetta build / restore

Figured i'd make a little thread.

Yes i know, not G12
I got a 96 jetta last year, really high mileage, poorly taken car of and is now broken (2.0) So i decided to finish building up the vr6 i had in the garage, I mean start building....

But its my first time swapping an engine, and I figured I could use the internet people to help. Feel free to let me know your $00000.02

Anyways, I just got the block off the ground and onto the stand. All I have as of now are the Vr6 head/block and radiator. Ive been bargain hunting, trying to be cheap but smart.

Dont worry, not asking for a parts list, already got that sorted out.

What I do need help with is the vr6 block/head. I did a leak test and none of the valves showed signs of being bent. Even cranked the cam to open them up and inspect. But im worried about the block, as far as I know the engine had a blown head gasket and was 75k miles on it. Not to mention when I tipped it over water came out of the cooling ports from the head. The oil was brown too, so Im thinking someone put water in the coolant instead of coolant...

Im sure the head will need to be resurfaced. Guy told me he'd belt sand it for $35 but I have to remove the valves first, which I do not know how to do yet, but ill find out soon.

Then Im worried aboutt he block, it sat on concrete so i hope it doesnt have any cracks.

Anyways, ive already got parts in route such as gaskets, and a few sensors. Im trying to source a transmission locally for cheap. Tomorrows plans are to strip the interior and find out if its even worth it (rust :banghead: )

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·