VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 195 Posts

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
New pictures on page 4 :wave:
DSC_2045 by johnbennett9877, on Flickr

Hey everybody! I'm John. Been on the vortex for quite some time now and had a few too many mk4's. I'll try and keep this updated as much as possible, but it will be slow as I am doing this alone and outside. Plus I'm a broke college student... :banghead:

Here is my last TDI.

Now onto the current stuff. I picked up mk4 #7 at the end of July this year. Finally got a wagon, and only paid $2500 for it!!! It is a 2002 GLX vr6 5speed. Unfortunately it is reflex silver:facepalm:. Had 158k miles on it, and had not seen a bit of maintenance...or even a good cleaning for that matter :banghead:. The only thing the PO kept up with was oil changes. The vr had a bad misfire, exhaust leak, a handful of coolant leaks, and super noisy chains. But it drove great, and seemed to be a solid car!

I have always wanted a tdi wagon, but with the way the tdi market is you can't come by one cheap. A good friend of mine totaled his '03 tdi sedan back in March and I bought it with the intentions of using the drivetrain. So why not build a diesel wagon with options not originally with a tdi.

Parts list:
Interior and license plate leds
High Bolster Black Leather seats
Golf front end swap
TDI swap 95% complete

To do list/parts I already have but not installed:
Button up TDI swap
Black interior conversion
Air
Fix rust on rockers
Gli skirts
Refinish 4 spoke steering wheel
Rock the c5's for winter
.:R pedals

Plans for next year:
Tune
Nozzles
Real wheels
Redo headliner and pillars
Possible respray

The wagon.

And the donor.

The day I brought the wagon home.

I don't think it had been washed or vacuumed in years. I had to bug and tar the entire car. Here is after a good cleaning.

Swapped some led's over.