VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: max redline of motor (vwdriver92)

also my sti swap is a 2.0 motor and redlines at 8300 and with the vf22 has full boost by 3800 rpm and makes max hp at about 7500 and that is about 1000 rpm more than my 1.8t under boost, Not saying the 1.8t will make anymore hp at 7500, it might make the same at 6500 that the sti swap does but exploring unlocks more hp and with the vf22 it should spool the same as it does on the 2.0 motor, and yes i got a jabba sport manifold that fits the IHI turbos
and I have no VW computers, running TEC 2, well no running I am in the process of the swap into a A2 gti
Modified by vwdriver92 at 6:52 PM 7-13-2003

Modified by vwdriver92 at 6:53 PM 7-13-2003
Modified by vwdriver92 at 6:56 PM 7-13-2003


Modified by vwdriver92 at 4:38 AM 7-19-2003
 

· Registered
Joined
·
824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Re: max redline of motor ([email protected])

well I am sure the cams arent really ment for higher rpm but I see alot of dyno's showing to 6500 and done, I just wanted to see what I could push with stock cams, I figure to about 7200 or 7300 and get maybe peak hp about 6800 or 6900 would be nice,
I dont see anyone using any cams, I was wondering about those shcricks if they get some extra hp in the upper rev range, but I know about vw heads and they usally need some better springs to rev about 7g for a long period of time
and with VR6 T with some cams I know peeps push the motors to about 7300 -7500 and get higher hp at about 7k vs 6500 rpm


Modified by vwdriver92 at 7:37 PM 7-13-2003
 

· Registered
Joined
·
39,497 Posts
Re: max redline of motor (vwdriver92)

How about you post the dyno chart of your current configuration and we could probably tell you how much you may be able to benefit from a higher rev limit than whatever you're currently running, and what limit may be best for you.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Re: max redline of motor (AZGolf)

thats the thing I am curently swapping the motor, I just tested fit the other day and welded in some brakets and junk and pulled the motor out, once the engine bay gets painted it will be goin back in
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top