VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
  • Mwerks and Fourtitude have rejoined VWVortex. For more info, see this thread.

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a historical thread that i am putting together, please pop in and have a read here:
http://www.clubgti.com/forum/s...56196
Just wondering if there is any info how ever smalll that someone has that i can add to it (everyone will be quoted).
Also hoping there are people in the USA that can add more esp the SCCA stuff.

Cheers
Mike

·
Registered
4 Posts
Re: Mk1 Kamei Rabbit racer History (fthaimike)

Hi Mike, my name is Tony Angioletti and I raced the Kamei Rabbit in 1980. Some history about the car and how I obtained the ride. I was a Manufacturers Agent and one of the lines I represented was Kamei Spoilers. I raced my own Rabbit in 1979 and 1980 first in B Sedan then GT3. Kamei brought the car over and had the team that ran Scirocco's in the Trans Am under 2.5L class some years before build the chassis. The plan was to run the car in IMSA GTU, which was a tall order since that class was dominated by Mazda RX7's and Datsun 280Z's way back then. The team was located in Chicago and had McKee Engineering, of Can Am fame, build the car. They were supposed to race it in 1980, but after spending something like $40,000 and it was already into June, Kamei asked me to take over the project and run the car for the rest of that year. I told them the best I could do was to run it in the SCCA Nationals and try to qualify for the National Runoffs in Road Atlanta.