VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Hoping for a little guidance. This is my first time doing a belt of any sort, I am somewhat mechanically inclined (brakes, rads etc) but timing is a sore area for me. But I think im getting there.

For the cambelt - I have the upper crank at the correct marking, the rotor arm facing the correct marking.
What I see as the marking within the gearbox housing seems incorrect to me, but this is how it was looking before I took the belt off too. So, before I tighten everything back up, I wanted some clarification if the marks are correct, and what I'm seeing makes sense.

I've taken some pics, please let me know if what I'm seeing makes sense and is correct. This is how everything looked before I took the belt off, and everything was running fine. It would make a ticking noise when cold but I think that could be the oil pump giving out. I'm fairly sure none of my gearing has moved out of place.

Any help would be great.
Tire Wheel Automotive tire Motor vehicle Tread
Wheel Water Automotive tire Tire Fluid
Tire Automotive tire Wheel Tread Fluid
Automotive tire Motor vehicle Gas Vehicle brake Rim

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
@Pacific_northwestern @demented_irony

Thank you both for the responses.

- This is how I remember the markings to be when i pulled the belt off. I'm assuming the timings have been messed with from the distributor? If so, can I put everything back together and timing things back up with a strobe gun? I just want to be safe in knowing the belt replacement has ben done correctly.

- What/How/Where does the yellow mark line up with (pic showing crank)? If/when fitting the pulley, and the marks line up correctly, am I good to assume my belt replacement is good and I can continue?

·
Registered
52 Posts