VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just did this and wanted to share my experience with everyone. This was my first oil pan replacement and I wasn't all too sure on how to tackle it. Searching didn't provide any really useful information so I figured Ill put one of these together to help out the next guy in need :thumbup:

Disclaimer: I am not a professional mechanic and my training never went further then my HS Auto Shop Class :D I am not responsible for any damages to you or your car that may happen while performing this. This is simply a reference guide, please follow all safety procedures and perform at your own risk.

Time frame:
Took me about 2 hrs, thats with running back and forth to get different things from the house :D Can be done in well under an hour if you have done this type of thing before :thumbup:

Tools needed:
Metric socket/ratchet set to undo the drain plug, loosen the oil pan bolts etc.
T25 Torx bit to undo the lower plastic heat shield.
T30 Torx to undo the oil pan bolts.
Jack stands or ramps.
Jack.
Towel or a rag to put under the exposed long block to prevent a mess.

Parts needed:
Oil pan.
Liquid oil pan gasket.
Oil level sensor cover (plugs up the hole in your new pan if your original dosent have one, mine didnt)

Oil pan part #

Cover part #

Complete package:

Raise up the car to a comfortable work height and put some wheel blocks under the rear
tires to prevent it from rolling. Nice weather or a garage is a plus but is not required :banghead:

After making sure the car is secured get under and remove the plastic heat shield using the T25 bit.

Here is the culprit.