VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just graduated from college last semester and accepted a job this week. My parents promised under certain circumstances that they would help me purchase a car. As a current Jeep driver, I wanted to find a new car that stood out but was still youthful and certainly more fuel efficient. Volkswagen was my target brand - hands down.

Thus began the car searching process. First, I dug the Alltrack (too pricey, not the coolest), then I gravitated towards the Passat R-line (great value but too large), and finally I even considered the GLI (sporty, but still just a sedan). Ultimately, I decided on the GTI; because of course, that's what VW does best. Initially, I feared the GTI would be too drastic of a downsize from my Jeep, but after several rounds of test driving, I knew it was the one.

In my opinion, the Sport trim is the best package out there for 2017. The wheels make a bold statement and the Bi-Xenons w/ LED DRLs are a no brainer. The sunroof and navigation I could care less about (Apple Car Play will suffice). The only quarrel I had with the Sport trim are the plaid seats - which I find resemble a gothic girl's skirt - although I do favor the cloth material. Regarding exterior colors, I don't believe you can go wrong on the GTI, although I desired a lower maintenance color.

Anyways, I have just completed the lengthy negotiation process and have the car reserved and ready for pickup tomorrow (Wednesday) morning. Here she is in the dealer's spillover lot, fresh off the truck. What a beauty. More updates and photos will be posted in this thread along the way.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
I'm don't plan on tuning or adding any additional performance (at least not yet), however there are some aesthetic modifications / features I wish to eventually add:

• VW center wheel caps (if they don't come already)