VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I was driving back to school in London from Mississauga in my 1991 Jetta 8v and just as I was exiting the 401 onto airport road, I felt a serious loss of power and I started to hear a fast clicking noise matching the speed of the revs. When I engaged the clutch, the revs dropped to almost zero and when I let the clutch out in a gear they rose back up...
When I was forced to stop for a light, the car just quit on me and I was unable to start it again.

I'm an automotive student at Fanshawe College here and both my roommate (who was in my car at the time of the breakdown) and I were thinking either I dropped a valve, blew a piston ring or both...
I don't know for sure and anyone who has an idea of what these symptoms might mean is welcom to give their opinion...
My real question, however, is where can I get a cheap 8v (digi2) engine or a complete 2L 16v (withe ECU and harnesses) in the london area... I don't have a way to get an engine from anywhere else because I'm now riding the bus for the time being

ANY help is greatly apprecaited!

·
Registered
1,370 Posts
Re: Need help guys... I may need a new engine!!! (sexymk2)

If you are an automotive student, then just rebuild it. Pull the cyl head off and confirm what the damage is then proceed accordingly.
I had a friend that was very broke and he rebuilt his v-8 without even boring the cylinders, worked great for years. A rebuild kit is cheaper than you think if you don't bore 0.010" over. good luck.

·
Registered
1,523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

Well first of all I'm in London, not Toronto. If I could drivew there to get an engine, I wouldn't need one!
I checked it today and it looks like I threw a rod and bent a couple of valves... I need the car to get to work so I have about a week to get myself a used engine... is there anyone out there from LONDON???

·
Registered
644 Posts