VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Im new to VWs. I just picked up a 84 rabbit GTI. Its been sitting for god knows how many years and the inside was filled with 2 inches of water. I drained out as much as i could and pulled the front seats. I am working on pulling the carpet as well to find out how bad the floor too it with the water sitting on it. Im expecting to find some rot but have not found any on the floor yet. My main question is...where could this water be coming from. I pulled that plastic filler panel between the engine and the windshield and there was nothing covering the blower motor. Is there supposed to be something sealing that up? I will get some pictures up soon but its a rough car to say the least. The rear panel is really rotted to hell along with the hatch. There is a rot hole where the spare tire goes that i can see from the outside. The passenger door has rot at the bottom but the drivers is clean. I didnt buy it for all that much so i dont think i made out too bad.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Ok thanks for the quick reply. Yea the interior is really gross right now. I started pulling up the carpet last night and so far i didnt find rot suprisingly. The hatch def leaks im sure since its rotted out. The Rain tray is just covered in junk from sitting so ill vacuum it out and really get it clean. The plastic cover is not in the best of shape. You def gave me some things to go on. Oh yea its a hardtop car so no sunroof to worry about.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·