VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi im new to the bus world but not to the air cooled. last week i bought a 68 bus, im not sure which kind it is...it has the cabinets and the bed in back, eletrical in let on the out side, a little chair behind the drivers seat. It doesn't have the pop top thow.....I also need some information on where i could find a fidge and a sink to go behind the passengers seat. and one more thing im looking for a table that goes between the bench seat and the backwards chair.

thanks alot for any help

·
Registered
6,004 Posts
Re: new to the bus world (lovr6wagon)

Without a pop-top, I assume it's not a Westy..... Before you begin trying to track down pieces, find out who did the camper conversion(and if it was officially done, not just pieced together by a previous owner). Good luck in your quest!

·
Registered
2,153 Posts
Re: new to the bus world (maximus_manx)

Bay window westies don't always have pop tops...so they only way to really tell what kind of camper it is is to find tags on the interior pieces or compare your bus interior to other bus interiors at shows, etc.
If you're not going for "correct" then I say just go to local VW shows and swap meets to look for the sink/fridge and table. Also, check out http://www.thesamba.com/vw and look in the classifieds section. Placing a want ad there will probably help you find the parts you're looking for!
Katie

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: new to the bus world (Toothbrush Song)

there is a stamp on the rightside of the bust that says it is a westy made in 1967 and there is a stamp under the rear seat.....now that i know it is a westy what do i do now for the sink and fridge. also i want it low down in the weeds any help would be great

·
Registered
2,153 Posts