Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Administrator
87,865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys (gals),
I'm new to the Vortex but not to the VR6-list or the local Philly guys list...
Anyway,
For those of you that have installed the Hella Dual Rounds,
I installed my HID kit into this lamp and have been experiencing a slight "rattle" or "flutter" coming from the headlight.
I'm pretty sure it's not the actual bulbs themselves. The entire headlamp assembly seems to have just a bit of play in it (I've sured up all of the mounting points).
My question is this:
Due to the fact that HID lighting is so much more intense that any small rattle will show up 10 fold. I have had others drive it and you can't tell that it rattles from the source of the light (you know when people's reflectors are loose it is a real pita to your eyes). I'm just wondering if anybody else has had this problem and what they did (if anything) to solve it...
Also, Is there a source for an amber city light bulb for them? I've tried everywhere.
Thanks guys,
By the way, I've got a '98 GTi VR6, tint, k&n, h&r/bilstein, 17"BBS RC, hella duals w/ HID, and that's it!
Thanks again!
Nater

·
Registered
7,018 Posts
Re: New to Vortex...Question about Hella Dual Rounds for the GTi (nater)

sorry man i cant help you on this. i just put a set of hella duals in my car (joe arlo still rocks btw) and im loving them. id like to hear about your hids though...where did you get them, how much, how was the install, etc... good luck on fixing the flutter, havent noticed anything like that on mine but ive got them in really tight. might make sure the lenses themselves are in good...

·
Administrator
87,865 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: New to Vortex...Question about Hella Dual Rounds for the GTi (brutefungus)

My HID's were an easy install (easy is a relative term). If you are somewhat mechancally inclined you can do it.