VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a good friend who owns a reputable import shop in my area. He keeps hounding me to put a manual boost control on my car, and swears it would make a huge difference (he wants to crank in around 15-18psi). I dont know a whole lot about turbo cars (seeing as how this is my first one) and I am unclear as to how a manual boost controler works and what it does (and yes, Ive already run a billion searches). I am concerned with a few things. 1st and foremost is my warranty, he swears it could be quickly taken off before dealership trips but I dont want any permanent modification done to the car, can a boost control be installed with minimal modification? 2nd is reliability, as this is my only car and I am a recent college graduate just getting on my feet, I cant afford to have it be down for any amount of time. And 3rd is driveability, I would like the car to be faster, however not at the detriment of smooth revs and minimal turbo lag. Any info you have on Boost controllers and their effects on the car would be very appreciated.

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Re: newbie question about boost control? (fowtj)

I almost forgot, would I be smarter to just put in an APR chip? What other options are available to up boost a safe amount without major, irreversable modification? Thanks again

·
Registered
340 Posts
Re: newbie question about boost control? (turbovw18)

negative ghostwriter. chip says ummm boost is good. 1.5 bar is hotter than a wet dog sitting on your lap

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Re: newbie question about boost control? (turbovw18)

are you saying that w/o the chip the car will go into limp mode over 1 bar? Therefore a manual boost control is virtually worthless right?

·
Registered
10,449 Posts