VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie here. I've been reading this forum for over a year; great site http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif
I always got oil in my thottle body. While out on the west coast on business I stopped in and talked with the quys at New Dimension I came up with a fix. Basically a catch canister (tubing from pcv to a canister then to the intake tube - drain canister every couple weeks).
My question is where is the idle stabilizer/control valve? I forgot to dump my catch canister and oil got into my TB again. I noticed after I sprayed TB cleaner and wiped out TB/butterfly that the idle would drop, come back then drop again (still does this, its been 2 months). Under acceleration the car bogs, accelerates then bogs again. Had this happen trying to keep up with a V6 Accord

I've had the traditional MAF replacement done last year. Maybe a dumb question but does TB cleaner damage the MAF sensor? I have sprayed the board down in the past. I don't know if this would cause a failure.
Sorry for the long post.

·
Registered
12,107 Posts
Re: newbie question (volkwrite)

I've had the traditional MAF replacement done last year. Maybe a dumb question but does TB cleaner damage the MAF sensor? I have sprayed the board down in the past. I don't know if this would cause a failure.