VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK...here's the deal. I recently sold my 2001 Formula 6-speed with lots of mods because I was tired of driving a car who's basic underpinnings had been around since 1982 with the introduction of the 3rd gen. Camaro/Firebird twins. It felt like a tank, handled like a tank, but was VERY quick. One day I was driving through a local VW dealer in August and a Mojave Beige GTI caught my eye and I drove it and I liked it.
To make a long story short, I ended up questioning them about the upcomming 24V VR6/6-speed combo and they denied the whole thing and basically made me sound like some sort of lunitic or compulsive liar.
I kept telling myself I was going to wait for the new VR6/6speed, but after reading this board, the current VR6 seems to be a dud when it comes to output/upgrades. Though I will be finding a different dealer, I'm new to the whole VW thing and have a lot of questions for everyone.
1. I know similar questions have been beaten like a dead horse, but I want to know what kind of money it would take to get the 1.8T to outgun the new VR6's predicted 201hp (excluding NOS)? $500, $1000? More?
2. Could you build a reliable 1.8T that could turn high 13's and not be afraid to drive it everyday?
3. Do all GTI's come with the dorky "wood" shifter?
4. Will the 6-speed be available with the 1.8T when it becomes available with the VR6?
5. I know modding the new VR6 is all just speculation, but with what seem to be lackluster results with the current VR6, is a high-13 second VR6 a pipedream (other than the $4500 Z supercharger)?
6. What is a good starting point to rid the GTI of its Buick-like handling?
Thanks,
Nick Sparks

·
Banned
8,951 Posts
Re: Newbie with lots of MKIV GTI questions (sir_not_appearing)