VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well first off I am still a newbie to the Dub world. My question to you guys is this. I want to start restoring my 92 Jetta GL. I am a college student with no income (I attend a military school). The car needs some minor repairs but once this is done the car will be in 100% working order. The repairs will be done when I recieve my Income Tax returns ( this week or next). The body is in good shape. There are the minor pings and pongs for a 14 yrs old car. The interior on the other hand needs alot of help. This is where my question comes to play. I want to replace the fatory seats, carpet and fix the heater box (foam is flying every where). Then I also have water problems, I get a puddle on the floor in the back seat area, so I want to replace all the weather stripping for the doors and trunk. Where can I find these parts? I want to keep the factory look and feel with minumal changes to the car. I was wondering what web sites or stores may carry some of the replacement parts for a cheap or fairly reasonable price? Im one to get all new parts because then I know they are new and wont have problems down the line, but I want to do this as cheap as I can due to the no income sitution.
Ryan

Ps. if any one in the PA, NJ, NY area has any parts they are not using or dont need that are close to mint im me maybe we can work out a deal.

·
Registered
9,699 Posts
Re: Newbies question to the pros (playeboi)

Carpet can be bought brand new (aftermarket) for about 100 bucks. Seats and stuff are pretty common in junkyards, and I'd imagine, with a little hunting, you could find some decent GTI seats without dropping too much cash.
As for your water leaking problem... I'm not sure about that. Do you have a sunroof?

·
Registered
171 Posts