VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Search wasn't much help! I'm looking at getting a set up, but would like you veterans to tell me waht you know...make me smart (ok ok not smart, just a little more informed).
I was wondering what kit you have used, how the install went, any problems you might have had...etc. etc.
Thanks for the help (and not flaming) guys!
J

·
Registered
14,240 Posts
I'm by all means, no veteran... I'm scared to run nitrous on anything that hasn't been well prepared for it. When I use a bottle, it's going to be on the most indestructable motor I can build..

Just be careful. That's my best advice. Don't try to be superman and run a 175 shot..

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: (ZeRo_C0oL)

I just saw 2 Fast 2 Furious, so I'm ready to Nawz it up...j/k
actually, I've never done Nitrous before and want to try it out. I can get my hands on new motors relatively easily, so blowing the motor won't be totally disasterous. I was thinking like a 40-45 shot....or 350, whatever feels right

J

·
Registered
14,240 Posts
Re: (SRJetta)

You're crazy!
lol
If motors are really that dispensable to you, how about you hook me up with a free motor, or let me have your first motor when you blow it up?

Every little bit helps with me. I'd never intentionally blow up a VW motor. Ford, maybe.

·
Registered
280 Posts

Get a decent clutch, colder plugs and know if your fuel system is doing OK. If you start out small (35-55hp) if any problems like pinging come up you'll be able to hear them before they do any huge problems.
Learn to read your plugs, do it after a couple passes down the strip or a couple juicings on the freeway. This will tell you if your going lean before the death rattle starts hopefully.