VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

First off, I'm new to the forum, so nice to meet you all. I'm new to learning about my car/DIY maintenance as well so please bear with me if I'm not totally up to speed on everything.

I have a 2014 Jetta SE (US edition) and I'm looking to replace my rear brake pads. When I went online to buy the replacements I noticed that the listed items said either Bosch or TRW caliper and herein lies the problem I'm coming to you all with; I can't for the life of me figure out whether I have Bosch or TRW calipers.

So far I've found this table in an erwin manual for a 2014 Jetta someone else posted on this forum awhile ago (big ups to that guy):

There's another table for "twist beam" rear axles but from other posts I've read here I believe I have "multi-link." So I thought, great, just need to figure what engine I have and I'll know. Checked my vehicle identification sticker, have engine code CPRA, but cross referencing the details for CPRA with this table it doesn't seem like its listed here?

If I'm reading this correctly it should be listed as "1.8 l 125kW" in the table but its just not there? Can anyone offer guidance on how I can figure this out, or does anyone just know? Can I just take a wheel off and figure it out by looking at the caliper instead of sifting through all these manuals?

·
Registered
352 Posts
You dont need to remove anything. Just take a look at the lines where they connect to the caliper.

If you see one bolt: it is a Bosch caliper:

TRW:
If you see flare fitting screwing to the line, it's a TRW:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yes that is TRW!

2014 Jetta SE