VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really new to this. Convincing myself lifting a crown Vic is a good idea. I'm too cool to join a Crown Vic forum. Cars a 2001. How is this done? Thinking a tire size roughly around a 30-31 inch.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
On my f100 I have a 03 crown vic k-memeber, and it is raised up almost 3 inches right now. Due to the engine, and front end being off my truck. The wheels are pretty straight, and to the eye to have no camber issues.

I also had a 97 clip for a bit that I got from a car I bought the engine for, and a bunch of other nonsense. So I rolled the two clips together, and they seem to follow the same philosophy build. Also I noticed the 97 clip did the same thing with no weight in it as the 03.

So it should do a 2 inch lift easily if not more, and be aligned. Given the CV design I would consider air bags for a cheaper lift, and better travel. The 01's steel a- arms should make this a bit easier, and cheaper for the enthusiast.

As for tires have you thought about 275/60/17's? You can get them in AT's, and they come in around 29-30 inches. The wideness of the tire, and rim combo maybe better or atleast worth looking at. My other choice would be 265/70/16's, and go for a D load rating.

Either way it could be a fun vehicle to mess with. Just throw a roof rack on the top so people no your serious.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
I have done a bit of research, and now regret buying my ST. Even if owning such a car would guarantee single good for a very long time.

You need to fab up some aluminum spacers. I would cut aluminum round stock 1.5 inches thick, and use new body bushings. This way the body still cover most of the frame, and not look dumb. Plus the wiring should be able to drop down easy enough.

Then fab up a air ride kit for another 2 inches, and get some rancho adjustable shocks.