VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at this, so bear with me on this one.

I am trying to change oil myself, not sure if there is any special tool that I need to remove the drain plug, or a regular socket wrench (correct size) will do?
How about the oil filter? Any special tool needed?
Any other hint/tip is also appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,497 Posts
Re: Oil change on Jetta III... (angelfish001)

Depends on the engine. 2.0 should be like anything else, but VR6 is a little different, and you need a 7mm allen, and a 36mm socket (or big adjustable wrench) to get to the filter.

·
Registered
938 Posts

ok then on the 2.0 8v you need
19mm spanner (drain plug)
filter wrench or strong hands
new filter and drain plug washer
3 litres of oil
just raise and support car then open bonnet and open filler cap and pull dip stick out a little (prevents air lock) then go under the car and remove the 19 mm at the back of the sump and let the oil drain, while the oil is draining remove filter and fit new ne adding a little oil to the gasket then refit sump drain plug with a new washer (remove the old) and throw 3 litres of oil in there, che3ck the oil leval (should be about 1/8" above max and start the engine and let it idle for 30 sec. stop the engine and let it sit for 10 min and check oil adding as nessary

·
Registered
5,418 Posts

just jack the car up and put it on axle stands (or ramps if your not that low).
Make sure you put some wood behind ur rear wheels, just for afety measures.