VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It has been a tough week for me and the Passat.
A slow coolant leak that required some coolant once every couple of weeks turned into a gusher over the weekend.
Cost $850 to replace the thermo housing, thermo and coolant after pump.
Then, come Wednesday...no clutch. Cost...$625 to replace the clutch master and slave.
This morning, coolant light is flickering and the reservoir is empty. So, I figured maybe they had to pull the reservoir when they did the clutch work and did not get the thing topped off all the way. Fill it up. Take a highway ride and an hour later it is flashing again. Fill it up again, make the return trip and I get the same flashing light and empty reservoir.
Now, I am not a VW mechanic. However, I am a competent shade tree mechanic more accustomed to domestics. I don't SEE a leak. I don't hear a leak. The oil is clean, no milkshake. The exhaust is clean...no steam cloud. So, I am not thinking a HG.
Where is the coolant going????????????

I guess it is call to the dealer who did the leak fix on Monday...but is there anytihing I could look into prior? I feel very vulnerable since I don't know the problem areas with these cars..I am just trying to hold this one together so I can have a ride for my kids and I.
Any ideas are VERY welcome.
Mike

·
Registered
2,820 Posts
Re: OK, where is the COOLANT going? Pulling my hair out........:-( (Mike95GLX)

I would say HG... i guess its a common thing!
There was a post a while ago explaining where the HG is faulty..
Thats where i would put my money!

·
Registered
1,193 Posts

Heater core? Check the carpet. I don't know what else.
Jeff

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Re: (Hindenburg)

1- leak down test.