VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here with probably dumbest question of the day.

Bought a used R that was stock other than a cold air intake. I notice that the wheels slip a little (newer tires)from hard take offs in sport mode. I don't recall that before in my MK7.

It made me think, could a used car R be tuned still without me knowing it? Would my dealer be able to scan and tell me? OBDeleven?

I do not know much about tunes and was not certain if they are not cleared by prior owner could they still be "applied" to the car.

·
Registered
882 Posts

·
Registered
673 Posts
Newbie here with probably dumbest question of the day.

Bought a used R that was stock other than a cold air intake. I notice that the wheels slip a little (newer tires)from hard take offs in sport mode. I don't recall that before in my MK7.

It made me think, could a used car R be tuned still without me knowing it? Would my dealer be able to scan and tell me? OBDeleven?

I do not know much about tunes and was not certain if they are not cleared by prior owner could they still be "applied" to the car.
I'd be more worried about your haldex needing a fluid change if you're having your front tires slipping during hard acceleration. Unless you are having all 4 wheels slipping, then I'd say you need some better tires.

·
Registered
2,855 Posts
Yes it could be tuned, assuming the tires aren't bald/crappy + bad weather. Or like scmarchy said it could also be dead haldex (ie youre driving in FWD mode). Easiest giveaway if its DSG is it saying D1/D2/D3 and S1/S2/S3 showing you what gear its in in auto mode.

Check if there's an aftermarket downpipe in which case its a stage 2 tune (if no CEL is on). Stage 1 tune is harder to tell. Easiest is to email your VIN to the big tuning companies and ask if its tuned.

Dealership probably won't be much help unless you're having a problem, and OBDEleven/VCDS won't tell you.

·
Registered