VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont kow if anyone has done this. But I got an extra charger and my mom wants a new car and she has a 98 2.0 jetta she'll give me. I was thinking put a rebuilt g60 charger on it. with a 65mm pulley and a front mount. and I guess this is my question.
-what do I have to do to the 2L motor. chip, cam? anything with the fuel system. I think I would have to but not sure. I know I will need to fab brackets but can I just throw it on and go?? thanks in advance

·
Registered
7,318 Posts
Re: putting a G60 on a mkIII jetta. 2L (volxg60)

i'm no pro....but if you just throw it on with a stock pulley, it'll run a lil' lean.
and if you put an even smaller pulley on it, you will definitely need a 3.5 fpr and a chip

·
Registered
11,641 Posts
Re: putting a G60 on a mkIII jetta. 2L (Schnell-Corrado)

The 2.0 ABA in your mom's car is very different from the 1.8l g60 motor, and you will not simply be able to bolt a charger on to her engine.
First of all, the 2.0's fueling system is more or less completely incapable of handling even the stock boost from a g60 charger, much less the boost from a pullied charger.So, you'd have to either swap over the g60's fuel management, or go to an aftermarket management system like SDS.
Secondly, the 2.0 isn't built for boost - the compression ratio is too high to safely boost even the stock g60 boost level. So, to be safe, you'd probably want to do something about that - putting in aftermarket forged pistons, for example.
Thirdly, I know of no one who has mounted a g60 to an engine with a stock 2.0 head/manifold assemly without either a) using a home-made manifold, or b) using some weird custom mounting bracket for the charger. So, you're looking at a good-sized custom fabrication problem either way there.