VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
after hanging around down at the track and running agains my buddy (92 civic dx w/ GSR engine) i've noticed that the gears in our cars are much taller than the gears in most other cars. at the end of the 1/4, i'm at the top of third, and my buddy is at the top of 4th.
by changing the gearing alone, can our cars run faster in the 1/4? i know this sounds kind of newbish, but i'm just trying to gain a better understanding of how engines/trannies work. while i'm on the topic, what is the R&P, and what effects does changing it have?

·
Registered
5,081 Posts
Re: question about stock gearbox (19 GTi VR6 98)

I am not an expert on gearing but I do know this, changing your stock 3.339 r&p to either a 3.67 or 3.94 will give you quicker acceleration threw the gears but your top speed will be less. I used to have the stock 3.339 in my VR and I would finish the 1/4 in third. I switched it to the G60 3.68 but I used to still finish the 1/4 in 3rd but I would be almost at 7200 rpm when I crossed the line. now I just shift into 4th at the end of the track, my MPH suffers a little but the E/T is better.
if you have grand turismo 2 for play station you can mess around with the gearing on those cars to give you a better understanding.

·
Registered
1,477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: question about stock gearbox (schrickedVR6)

alright, there's one approach to better acceleration. what if i wanted to keep my same top speed, as in keeping the stock r&p, and make 1st -5th shorter and add a 6th gear that's even lower than the stock 5th for highway fuel economy?

·
Registered
5,081 Posts

quote:[HR][/HR]alright, there's one approach to better acceleration. what if i wanted to keep my same top speed, as in keeping the stock r&p, and make 1st -5th shorter and add a 6th gear that's even lower than the stock 5th for highway fuel economy?[HR][/HR]​