VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
'17 GSW 4MO DSG lifted w/ Alltrack springs
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, newbie here looking for a little advice.
Gotta '17 GSW 4motion that's completely stock and needs a new rear diff at 87K.
Gonna keep the car 5 more years most likely, but wondering about a few things before I decide to fix this.
First off, I'm not going to attempt this myself. I'm very handy and do a lot of other items on the car (did my haldex and DSG fluid changes), but this is beyond me.

My questions are:

Go with new or used diff?
New diff $2,500-$3000. Used begin at $300 with 80K on them.
If installing used, is this something that should get new seals beforehand or just go with it? Are there any seals?

Been driving on the bad diff for many months already. The AWD still works fine. Had dealer assess the noise back there this week. They said it's the diff. Bearings and brakes are fine. They changed the fluid in the diff. It was all "glittery with metal." (great :oops: ). New fluid didn't quiet it any. It's not making a really loud noise, more like brake noise that's only discernable at low speeds. No vibration, etc.

Wondering what I can expect if I keep driving it. Hoping to have more time to save $ for this. Already drove 10K with it making noise.
So... what will happen if I keep driving? Will it vibrate eventually and let me know it's time to stop driving like this? Or will it just lock up unexpectedly? Will driving it longer hurt my tires, bearings, brakes and suspension much?

Appreciate the advice.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,746 Posts
Did this happen after you did the DIY Haldex service? Some have mistakenly drained/filled the r. diff with the Haldex fluid or drained one and filled the other. R. diff going is a bit odd.