VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, was just hoping to get some knowledge and maybe confirmation of my suspicions on an issue I’ve had recently with my 19 Tiguan. About a week ago, my wife noticed some pretty bad grinding noise coming from the back wheel. Being pretty familiar with the sound (metal on metal), I pulled the tire off to check the brakes to see what’s going on. After inspecting, I can see the inner pad (closest to the middle of the car) is completely gone! Just straight metal on rotor, thus the grinding sound. The outer pad however still has about 40-50% of the pad left. The car only has just under 50k miles on it. Since it’s still under warranty, I took it in and they keep trying to tell me it’s “normal” for the inside pad to wear quicker than the outside.

I call complete BS. I’m not a master mechanic or anything, but I do know my way around the car and I know it’s not normal for the inside pad to wear at twice the rate of the outside pad without there being something wrong. They say they checked the caliper to make sure it wasn’t sticking (which was my assumption that it was, cause you could hear the grinding even when the brakes weren’t applied, plus we haven’t been getting the greatest of MPG, about 21 on average) and they checked whatever other systems are involved and said everything checks out clean and kept trying to peddle that BS story that this is normal in this model vehicle. If this is true, then all the other pads on my car should be the same, but of course they’re not.