VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I am considering to improve the handling of my 2000 Jetta 1.8T and I have a dilemma which rear sway bar to get: 25mm or 28mm. I am an occasionally agressive driver. So far my suspension mods are Bilstein Sports mated to Eibach Pro-Kit springs.
What would you suggest?

·
Registered
706 Posts
Re: Rear sway bar for Jetta Mkiv: 25mm or 28mm? (f1forkvr6)

Agreed on the 28mm. Just put my autotech bar in and am very happy with it.

·
Registered
407 Posts
Re: Rear sway bar for Jetta Mkiv: 25mm or 28mm? (20V1.8Tnut)

I have the same springs/shocks (Eibach Prokit/Bilstein Sports) with the Neuspeed 25mm rear sway on the stiffest setting. If I could change my mind on my sway bar I would choose the 28mm, Neuspeed or Autotech. I have the 28mm rear on my Golf and it handles great.

·
Registered
8,134 Posts
Re: Rear sway bar for Jetta Mkiv: 25mm or 28mm? (02uphillracer)

Quote, originally posted by 02uphillracer »
autotech cheaper.

Shine - even cheaper .... and stiffer

·
Registered
706 Posts

Actually I paid 179 for my autotech bar from performance cafe, compared to the 200 for the shine bar.

·
Registered
1,044 Posts
Re: Rear sway bar for Jetta Mkiv: 25mm or 28mm? (slogtiguy)

Solid or hollow. A 25 mm solid is approx the same stiffness as a 28 mm hollow (given similar designs).
I'd go with a 28 mm hollow.

·
Registered
1,044 Posts

someone (forget the handle, sounded norwegen?!) posted a rather technical (i.e. lots of physics) analysis of the stiffness of a 25 mm solid vs. a 28 mm hollow bar.
Results were quite close.

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Re: Rear sway bar for Jetta Mkiv: 25mm or 28mm? (Jeckyll)

Quote, originally posted by Jeckyll »
someone (forget the handle, sounded norwegen?!) posted a rather technical (i.e. lots of physics) analysis of the stiffness of a 25 mm solid vs. a 28 mm hollow bar.
Results were quite close.