VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Scoring a clipper kit from a '89 Cabby that suffered major wiring fry and is headed for the great yard in the sky. What am I going to need to remove the pieces and how long do you think it will take (I am an average mechanic)? I'd just take the car to my house and pull it at my leisure but stoopid HOA won't allow that kind of activity http://****************.com/smile/emthdown.gif
I want to make sure I get all the needed pieces to put it on my '84...
TIA

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
Re: Removing a clipper kit - what do I need? (Rob Stercraw)

I dont know about removing, but installing of a Clipper kit that I saw in Bentley last night really scared me: you need to use tape a lot, etc.... Scary enough for me not to even think about removal.

·
Registered
2,972 Posts
Re: Removing a clipper kit - what do I need? (Cab42)

theres a couple of rivets to drill out where the arches connect to the bumps. youll need a drill, then, some wrenches for the bumps (19 or 21 mm? i cant remember - take a whole set), two jackstands and a set of screwdrivers. pliers to disconnect the turn signal wires.
oh, and some brute force. dont forget that. example, heres how to remove the front bumper skin and rebar:
>drill out the three rivets on the inside of the front arches, where they meet the front bumper
>get you fingers between the bump and the grille and pull the skin upwards. youll hear it pop. there are at least seven clips you need to pop up
>the bump skin is now only attached to the rebar with clips on the inside at the front. basically its stuck into holes on the rebar. you cant access them so you have the get some leverage and pull HARD. they will pop out. all 15-ish of them