VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a '86 Jetta I bought for $100. I didn't check the body as well as I should have and I'm discover rot more and more. The intent was to make it into an Auto-X car so it doesn't have to be pretty, just stronge and safe.
I'm new to body work and welding, so I'd like some honest opinions on this. Is it worth fixing? Can I fix it?
Some pics (sorry for the big images...)

Modified by smoke3006 at 11:31 AM 9-14-2005

· Registered
543 Posts
Re: Rust damage, how bad is it and can it be repaired easily... (smoke3006)

I would think you might want to start w/ something in a bit better shape. I see the tower is rusted pretty good and the only way to repair it correctly is to replace the tower, which can be a ton of work. Sorry.

· Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Rust damage, how bad is it and can it be repaired easily... ([email protected])

I didn't even notice the rust damage to the rear tower until last night. I wasn't too thrilled when I saw that. So that looks bad enough to have to replace the whole thing? Crud. I think the next trip for this Jetta will be the junk yard

· Registered
2,544 Posts
Re: Rust damage, how bad is it and can it be repaired easily... (smoke3006)

Weld it up nicely and carefully, as to not warp other things with the heat and you'll be good... as for the floor... scrap it, put a 2X4 for you feet and replace the weight a roll cage

· Registered
6,891 Posts
Re: Rust damage, how bad is it and can it be repaired easily... ([email protected])

Quote, originally posted by [email protected] »
start w/ a rust free car..