VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
10,608 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We needed a single sidedraft manifold for a cross flow head, nobody we know of makes them commercially so I decided to make one. What make this different is I decided to cast it, something I don't recall seeing on this forum before. This is my VERY first attempt as sand casting anything and as such I'm fairly pleased with the results, the size and shape are spot on what I'd planned but the surface finish on the casting leaves a lot to be desired. For me, this was an experiment, I learned a lot in the process of doing this, I think my next casting, if there is one, will be look much nicer. Here are a couple of pics, one fresh out of the sand and one after a little bit of clean up;

Modified by ABA Scirocco at 5:50 PM 4-10-2010

·
Registered
10,608 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: (turbinepowered)

Quote, originally posted by turbinepowered »
Did you do "lost foam" plug casting for that?
Looks good!

No, conventional sand casting with a pattern and core. Here's what the mold and core looked like just before it was closed for pouring.

Modified by ABA Scirocco at 5:52 PM 4-10-2010

·
Registered
3,670 Posts
Re: (ABA Scirocco)

yeah, but I can't figure out how it stays supported. It would be sand just supported on the edges and i don't know that stands up, right?
Is the sand that sticky?

btw, great to see someone willing to do something different!

·
Registered
10,608 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Re: (jackfrost1031)

The sand in the main body of the mold is mixed with a little clay so it sticky to itself and will hold a shape kind of like the sand in a sand castle. The sand for the core is mixed with a binder that sets up like glue, the core is rock hard.

Modified by ABA Scirocco at 12:55 PM 6-5-2009

·
Registered
3,670 Posts
Re: (Turbo_Pumpkin)

What do you plan to do to face the flanges?