VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
VAG-COM TOOL!!!!!
Well guys... I said I was gonna follow up on my quest to make this tool and here it is! IT WORKED!!!
And I took some photos along the way to share with you guys my little project in case some of you are interested in making one also. It's SUPER EASY... if you have the right tools and patience.
Kudos to Jeff at Planetfall for sharing this great stuff. Thanks!
------------------------------
So here it is:

PLEASE NOTE!! If you do attempt this project, PLEASE PLEASE READ all caution labels on anything that you buy (really it's the ferric chloride.) Take it slow and use safety devices (ie... mask, goggles, gloves, etc.) To give you an idea of what skill level it takes to do this, I'll use me as an example. I'm not an Electrical Engineer. I'm a Computer Programmer with an MBA. I feel that if you can read and follow directions (along with some common sense), you should do just fine and be able to complete this project.
Now for the disclaimer:
You will be attempting this project on your own and will accept full liability and responsibility for what ever happens should something go wrong. I take no responsibility for any mishaps that should come up while you work on this project and while you use it to work on your car. Basically, you do this at your own risk.

LEVEL OF PROJECT DIFFICULTY (SCALE OF 1 TO 10 with 10 being the hardest: 4.5
TIME FOR COMPLETING PROJECT: About 1.0 to 2.0 hours (maybe a little longer) depending on skill level
COST OF PROJECT: Less than $8.00 if you already have the tools and supplies
-----------
Print out the schematic from Jeff's planetfall.com's website on transparancy. Print out the instructions. All the parts necessary for this project is also at this website.
* Click here for the parts list and schematics
* Click here for the guide written by Jeff.