VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lot of snow driving experience and this car is great except for stopping. The Abs kicks in and it will not stop. I blew thru 3 intersections today and I was being careful. Does anybody have this issue.

Mike

·
Registered
1,070 Posts
1. It is a very very heavy SUV
2. What tires are u using?
3. What are u comparing it to?
My Touareg stopped great in the snow with Nokian WRs. Now I have Toyo proxies and it sucks. Whoever recommended those tires are nuts. I get a screech and tire slip every hard stop on dry surface roads. Type of tires make a huge difference.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: (Tahoe12)

I had the Toyo proxy s/t and they were decent for a year round tire. But I had the same issue with the ABS. Now I have the newer proxy s/t's and they are the same for stopping. I could stop better if I could lock them up!! I am a snow removal contractor and I have driven lots of different vehical. Again it is just the stopping. If this continues I might need to get winter rims and tires!!

Mike

·
Registered
773 Posts
Re: (mikew968)

Judging by the tread pattern on those tires, they don't look like something that will be great friends with snow. Also, it appears that they may have more of a performance-oriented bend to them, meaning they may be a soft rubber compound that gets hard in the cold, further hindering their capabilities.
What size are you running?
Matt

·
Registered
50,745 Posts
Re: (VegasMatt)

Quote, originally posted by VegasMatt »
Judging by the tread pattern on those tires, they don't look like something that will be great friends with snow. Also, it appears that they may have more of a performance-oriented bend to them, meaning they may be a soft rubber compound that gets hard in the cold, further hindering their capabilities.
What size are you running?
Matt

Looks like summer tires to me.

Buy some Nokians:

·
Registered