VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4,470 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Deal
I need to get some new suspension for my Scirocco. I am almost positive that the current suspension setup has more than 80,000 miles on it- if not more
The Criteria
I want to stay as close to stock as possible. I don't want to spend an enormous amount of cash on suspension alone. I also do not want lowering springs.
The Issue
The only problem is that I am a complete noob when it comes to suspension, and I have no idea what I really need to get.

Modified by wheeltowheel at 5:59 PM 7-2-2008

·
Banned
25,977 Posts
Re: Suspension! (wheeltowheel)

what are you after?
do you want to increase the performance of you setup? or just replace the old stuff cause its..old?

·
Registered
18,520 Posts

I say - you want to stay close to stock? Go stock! That's what I did!
I used Sachs Supertouring struts, stock springs, new strut bearings, new bushings in the rear, and new inner and outer tie-rods.
Replace the engine mounts too - you will have a happy, quiet car that's great for a daily drive!

·
Registered
4,470 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Re: Suspension! (timbo2132)

Quote, originally posted by timbo2132 »
I say - you want to stay close to stock? Go stock! That's what I did!
I used Sachs Supertouring struts, stock springs, new strut bearings, new bushings in the rear, and new inner and outer tie-rods.
Replace the engine mounts too - you will have a happy, quiet car that's great for a daily drive!

I replaced the passenger's mount- the others look and feel good.

·
Registered
34,590 Posts

Had my engine mounts replaced, now the car rattles like there's no tomorrow
I hope they'll 'wear' in

·
Registered
SR71 C30 T53a/b/b A4
25,832 Posts

On my Slegato, I had stock springs, and Boge Pro Gas shocks.
The car was running great. http://****************.com/smile/emthup.gif

·
Registered
5,433 Posts
Re: Suspension! (Iroczgirl)

Quote, originally posted by Iroczgirl »