VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16,887 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, its really much easier than most would think. This list might seem long and daunting but I'm no rocket scientist (just ask my friends) and if I can do it so can you.

The reasons to do this?
-Cost of timing chain parts, phasers and cogs.
-Wear on the rest of the 3.6 parts (rings, bearings and HPFP)
-Bent valves: have you priced out the parts like gaskets, bolts, timing parts and valves.
-skill, do you really have the 3.6 experience to do any or all of the work listed above as well if not better than the factory did?
-Price of a long block with fairly low miles is about the same as the price of the timing parts and head gasket maintenance parts.
-Forged Cranks in 2012+ Passat 3.6 and 2013+ Touaregs

I swapped a 2017 Touareg 3.6 CGRA engine into my Corrado that had been running a 2006 Passat BLV engine and harness. There are a couple minor changes and different paths on how to handle them. Personally this is how I handled them:

-Vacuum pump on the side of the head: I used a block off plate. Chandler Bobo in the VW 2.8|2.9|3.0|3.2|3.6 VR6 Performance Facebook Group sells them for $60 shipped with a gasket, maybe it was $50

-Intake manifold: The intake ports are the same size and bolt patterns are the same. I used the silver 1 piece manifold. You could use in the Black 2 piece manifold and keep the vacuum pump. This might cause a CEL but I'm not certain and it can easily be coded out, the silver manifold is known to split with time, I've sold a LOT of used manifolds to replace split manifolds. The 2 piece manifold makes life easier on maintenance for the valve cover gasket and so on. If you chose to swap silver intake manifold you will need to swap in the corresponding dipstick tube, vacuum lines, and actuator. Also the bracket on the back of the head and the exhaust manifold heat shield all need to be swapped together to make everything fit.