VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,912 Posts
Re: switching to abs? (Clownracer v2)

yeah you get the racecar feel with a Mk2 with G60 brakes. the only reason I might add abs to my gti is to do race logic traction controll. but as stated before to eaches own. dave

·
Registered
6,460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Re: switching to abs? (88JETTEXTREME)

ok i know about ABS sucking and its beat and NOONE on vortex likes it but its safer look at the car in my sig ive been in some bad accidents after the corrado i had a Mack truck slide into the back of my friends truck doing forty anyway i like ABS im doing a full roll cage im a big fan of safety i was just wondering if its feasible
edit for spelling

[Modified by Clownracer v2, 1:31 PM 2-14-2002]

·
Registered
12,366 Posts

The swap would be very difficult I think.......might not be worth the time......
I am also in the minority here - I have been racing for over 10 years - autocross, track events, drag racing, street racing etc..and I can say that I like having ABS - I have it on my '90 GLI - and it works great - surprisingly so - I can beat the system and threshold brake better than almost anyone - but once in a while I will hit the brakes on a bumpy section of road and the ABS will kick in to keep the tire rolling instead of locking up......and in the snow (living in a place where people have NO IDEA how to drive in the snow - it actually has helped once or twice there too......i have very good street/race pads on my car and dot 4 brake fluid - and the setup works well - i believe that the brakes on my car are almost the best I HAVE HAD ON ANY CAR - and once in a while the ABS has kicked in and saved my butt - sure there are situations where it is not the best....but I don't want to have to think about my braking technique when I am not on the track.......in everyday commuting I think it has benefits.......