VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

2061 - 2080 of 2099 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
yes your right it is in position 12 I've corrected my post. And yes thats how my fuel system is set up. only thing is since the car was originally carbed it had a relay for the intake heater in position12 which I've tried to put a fuel pump relay in but doesn't seem to work, but the fuel pumps do go with a jumper cable in place of the relay. I've tested my relay straight of the battery and can hear it clicking on and off.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,514 Posts
I am hoping someone else running R1 carbs on their ABA can chime in with jet size suggestions...I have seen everything from 165-200mm suggested but all just info gathered from skimming threads.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,522 Posts
I am hoping someone else running R1 carbs on their ABA can chime in with jet size suggestions...I have seen everything from 165-200mm suggested but all just info gathered from skimming threads.
I realize this isn't really helpful, but I've also skimmed threads and it seems that 160's are good for ~ stock 1.8L 8v. So, if your ABA is relatively stock, I'm inclined to think 170 or 175 is a good starting point. Jets are cheap enough to buy a couple sizes, though changing them can be a mess. Where are you planning to buy them?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Finally got my carbs on. I am currently running cbr900rr carbs. I put a 42 pilot jet in and a 190 main. The 190 is super rich on wot. But the stock 124 is too lean. I'll try my 180 but will probably end up with a 160 or 170.

I have the tt 254 cams, headers, and 2 1/4 exhaust.

The issue I'm having, is that when i let off the throttle it goes lean. Around 17 or 18:1 afr. If I let it sit and idle for a few minutes it eventually raises back to 14ish:1 afr. My mixture screws are set 5 turns out at this point.

As soon as I give it any throttle itll richen up and be fine, but clutch in and off throttle drops again.

Any ideas? I've also cleaned them already, and synced them.


Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
As soon as I give it any throttle itll richen up and be fine, but clutch in and off throttle drops again.
You may want to try using 50 pilot jets. 42 is a bit small, it may be why you're leaning out off throttle. Off throttle and idle is primarily what the pilot jets handle.

190 may be a tad much for the mains as well, I'd grab some 180's while you're on the hunt. Rule of thumb for bike carbs, if you're more than 2.5 turns out, you need to rejet.

Report back and let me know if it helped!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
So I put 160s in for mains. I'm around 13.5 under wot which I'm happy with. Plus I have jets all the way to 190 so I've got options. I also drilled out my pilots to .4mm. Stocks were .3mm. Idle is still a little lean but not horrible around 16 to 17:1. But cruising is around 12-13afr. Which is a bit rich for cruising imo. I'd like to be closer to 14-15.
However, if I go smaller on the pilots my idle still wont be rich enough.
I'm at a weird kind of stand still.

I've also noticed that after driving my car for a bit, the idle will raise about 200rpms at idle. And it rev hangs quite bad too which makes me think it's just dumping fuel. Or maybe my fuel pressure is too high. Although it reads at 1psi.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,643 Posts
So I put 160s in for mains. I'm around 13.5 under wot which I'm happy with. Plus I have jets all the way to 190 so I've got options. I also drilled out my pilots to .4mm. Stocks were .3mm. Idle is still a little lean but not horrible around 16 to 17:1. But cruising is around 12-13afr. Which is a bit rich for cruising imo. I'd like to be closer to 14-15.
However, if I go smaller on the pilots my idle still wont be rich enough.
I'm at a weird kind of stand still.

I've also noticed that after driving my car for a bit, the idle will raise about 200rpms at idle. And it rev hangs quite bad too which makes me think it's just dumping fuel. Or maybe my fuel pressure is too high. Although it reads at 1psi.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
My car does the same idle rise when it’s warm. Ive changed jets, played with mixtures, adjusted floats. I’ve just accepted it.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Weird. The only thing I can think is the fuel isnt getting mixed well enough with the air because it's not sucking in as much as the bike would at idle. Or maybe it is the fuel psi. I've been messing around. And I'll keep doing so because I love these carbs haha.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,522 Posts
What are you doing for ignition timing, do you have vacuum advance? If-so, where (and how) are you pulling vacuum from? If pulling from a single runner that may not be enough.

This just covers the basics, but it's a good start: https://www.classiccarrestorationclub.com/article/carburetor-tuning-ignition-first/#

And this one (read down a bit) gets into things a bit more: http://www.superchevy.com/how-to/additional-tech/1601-everything-you-wanted-to-know-about-vacuum-advance-and-ignition-timing
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
I'm running a 16v knock box. No vac reference, but with it hooked up it wasnt making a difference either.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
541 Posts
Got a wiring question about the ICM. Not running a knock box, using a full msd setup. All the wiring diagrams I’ve found show 4 wires but my plug has 6 wires in the 7 pin connector and three of those have been spliced into the distributor plug.

Anyone have the wiring for the 6 wire plug? I’ve looked in the Bentley and don’t see any wiring diagram that has 6 wires for the ICM.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,751 Posts
Got a wiring question about the ICM. Not running a knock box, using a full msd setup. All the wiring diagrams I’ve found show 4 wires but my plug has 6 wires in the 7 pin connector and three of those have been spliced into the distributor plug.

Anyone have the wiring for the 6 wire plug? I’ve looked in the Bentley and don’t see any wiring diagram that has 6 wires for the ICM.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What year and model car are you working on?

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Hi there guys,

Just swapped my 79 Rocco with a 16v 9A bloc, ABF cams and R1 Carbs. Standard electronic ignition that i had already in the car, with a vacuum distributor.
Jets are 180mm Main, 50 Idle.

The car started right up, no problems there. But it is really smoking black. Not even exagerating, you can't stay behind the car without suffocating. And when in a Red Light, well..... a nightmare for those how are behind me :facepalm:

The head was done with new seals and valves, the bottom end is stock, nothing done to it, it has 180k kms (112k miles)


Since the carbs are putting more gas in, do i need to go with another oil than the one stock for this engine?
Now i'm running with the 10W40. Searched all of this topic for oil posts, but found nothing clear and precise, to what people have been running with a similar set up.

Should i try another oil? Do the 16v engines accept 20w50 oil?
Or i have no choice and do the bottom end, piston rings, etc?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,751 Posts
Hi there guys,

Just swapped my 79 Rocco with a 16v 9A bloc, ABF cams and R1 Carbs. Standard electronic ignition that i had already in the car, with a vacuum distributor.
Jets are 180mm Main, 50 Idle.

The car started right up, no problems there. But it is really smoking black. Not even exagerating, you can't stay behind the car without suffocating. And when in a Red Light, well..... a nightmare for those how are behind me :facepalm:

The head was done with new seals and valves, the bottom end is stock, nothing done to it, it has 180k kms (112k miles)


Since the carbs are putting more gas in, do i need to go with another oil than the one stock for this engine?
Now i'm running with the 10W40. Searched all of this topic for oil posts, but found nothing clear and precise, to what people have been running with a similar set up.

Should i try another oil? Do the 16v engines accept 20w50 oil?
Or i have no choice and do the bottom end, piston rings, etc?


pic of the beast ;)

Black smoke is fuel, not oil. Oil smoke is blue. What is your fuel pressure? If you pull the dipstick does the oil smell like fuel? Float level ob the carbs? Idle bleed screw adjustment?

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,522 Posts
First thing I think of with black smoke is that you're running really rich. The way you describe it makes it almost sound impossibly rich (like it wouldn't even run well) but still...

Do you have a wideband O2 gauge?

And do you have a pressure gauge on the fuel feed line to the carbs?

Do you have your choke hooked up? Perhaps it's on choke and you don't realize it?

Very nice setup by the way, that looks great. :thumbup: :thumbup:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Black smoke is fuel, not oil. Oil smoke is blue. What is your fuel pressure? If you pull the dipstick does the oil smell like fuel? Float level ob the carbs? Idle bleed screw adjustment?

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

First thing I think of with black smoke is that you're running really rich. The way you describe it makes it almost sound impossibly rich (like it wouldn't even run well) but still...

Do you have a wideband O2 gauge?

And do you have a pressure gauge on the fuel feed line to the carbs?

Do you have your choke hooked up? Perhaps it's on choke and you don't realize it?

Very nice setup by the way, that looks great. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Thank's guys for the replys!

So to try and answer all the questions:

- The pump is a R1 pump, don't know the fuel pressure :confused:
- I don't have a AFR/o2 sensor or gauge
- Choke is not hooked up
- The oil doesn't smell a lot like fuel, but it doesn't smell like only oil... i think that there is a bit of fuel in it
- Float level for me is the standard, i just made sure that all 4 where the same. i didn't find an exact information about it, if you have some information about the mesurement that it should have when installed on the 16v, it would be really helpfull
- Idle screw ajustment is at 2 and 1/2 turns


Today i made this:

- Changed the ajustment screw to 1 turn only, absolutely no change, engine starts immediatly and stays at 1k rpm.
- Looked the timing and i have +9/10° degrees of advance.
- Hooked up my gauges for the syncronization of the carburettors, they are all good
- Spark plugs are black and somewhat greassy


The car runs like crazy!! It has tons of power! so she is running right and reving with no problems. But i only made like 10 miles

I'm waiting for 170 jets that should be arriving soon, but don't even know if that will make a difference :confused:

Enlighten me please!!
 
2061 - 2080 of 2099 Posts
Top