VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 143 Posts

·
Registered
3,092 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have never had a proper big engine "sports car"

I want something v8 , manual trans, rwd. fun to drive and relatively reliable.

I have been looking at everything.

I want something i can work on myself - get parts relatively easily

I used to be a mechanic - so i don't mind doing easy to moderate repairs however i don't want to be working on the dang thing all the time...

Was really close on buying a coyote mustang - 2013 gt. was in great shape. this was pre covid crazy used car prices.

Now in that time i had a turo rental on our COTA motogp trip- initially it was on a c8 corvette. the c8 had a cel on, terrible engine noise - shortly after driving it. Turo owner was super nice and swapped us out on the vette into a jaguar f type - v6 supercharged. I know little about these cars. Me and my wife really enjoyed the vehicle. No manual transmission but man it drove great. I've heard the v8 supercharged f-types are a riot !

It got me thinking that maybe i need to increase my price range, possible go a bit more upscale in my sports car v8 rwd type of thinking ?

So now i'm looking at everything basically under 45k

aston martin vantage v8 manual trans - old tech, was owned by ford / has lots of volvo and jag parts of that era - i'm guessing not that reliable , easy to work on?

jaguar f type v8 , zf trans - newer tech - possibly more reliable but still an "upscale" marque - so lots of the above applies - expensive parts , easy to work on ?

2011 and up mustang gt - coyote - great engine - transmission issues , meh ? ford build quality is cheap but honestly it's never really bothered me - i drove a ranger for the last 4 yrs lol

Financially i understand the jag and aston could financially ruin me. They just seem like such fun cars.

Am I forgetting anything else ?