VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some pics to keep up my motivation.
Adding ported head, S2 intake, FMIC and MegaSquirt (I know, I know, I took out SDS for MegaSquirt??).

·
Banned
3,025 Posts
Re: The old 16vG60 (OttawaG60)

Quote, originally posted by OttawaG60 »
\MegaSquirt (I know, I know, I took out SDS for MegaSquirt??).\

do expand on this point cause i'm curious why you're choosing MS over SDS

·
Registered
3,159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Re: The old 16vG60 (Krautaholic)

Quote, originally posted by Krautaholic »

do expand on this point cause i'm curious why you're choosing MS over SDS

That's a bit of an odd one I guess, SDS is a great system, very easy to setup and run, plus there is no need for a laptop.
I switched because I'm an embedded designer, hang out with EE geeks who get a kick out of building these things, and like open source.
So it more a matter of geek factor than an evaluation of the systems themselves.
No one locally was running one, so I figured who better than my friends and I to try it out.
Now that I've installed both, here's some key points:
SDS: easy to install, comes with harness, very easy to tune, no need for a laptop, great email/phone support from raceTech.
Megaquirt: Needs EDIS or mods to fire spark, no harness, you have to build it yourself, needs laptop, and more complicated to setup. but, it's less expensive, online support is crazy, tons of people have built it and will offer support, DATALOGGING and it's constantly evolving, MS 2 and UMS are due out soon.
So, long and short of it, I'm putting my time and effort into the open sourceness of it all.
If you're not willing to "get your hands dirty", go with a commercial system.

·
Registered
3,159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Re: The old 16vG60 (ntonar)

Quote, originally posted by ntonar »
looks damn nice, where does the boost return tube go off your charger?

To the Throttlebody

·
Registered