VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 209 Posts

·
Registered
2,680 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
EDIT: Since I am a bit lazy, and uploading photos here takes me time and effort, I have put most of the day to day updates on this project onto a facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/BuildingMahCorrado

So Corrado newbie here, got my hands on a pretty straight 92 SLC shell a few months ago, and have been collecting parts while I got ready to bring her back from the dead. Finally got started yesterday and decided I may as well start a build thread for the project. Had to haul the car out to the shop before we could get started, this is a reasonable look at the shape the car is in.

I am going to tear the car all the way down to prep for paint, have to tear off the terrible maaco paint job someone in its past gave it, then I am pretty sure I am going to repaint in laguna seca blue. I have a few goodies waiting to go in, like this little thing...

Overall, I am not going to do anything outrageous, but I am going to switch to an OBD1 mk3 wiring harness, and the mk3 ABS, just little things to try and make the car a bit more reliable.

Yesterday I started pulling windows out of the car, and have a new dislike for the quarter windows. Managed to get one of them out along with the hatch glass, all in good shape, it just took more time than I would have liked for that blasted quarter glass.

So I'll keep updating this as I progress, if only so I have a nice central location to track my own progress from.

And just for a little extra shiny, here are some of my other VWs, past and present.

Wifey's Mk5:

My 95 Jetta that is providing much of the materials and parts for this rebuild:

And the last car that I rebuilt, my old 86 golf. This one was on the road for all of 6 months before it got totaled by some dude in a pickup, so hopefully the Corrado has better luck...

·
Registered
4,832 Posts
Welcome! Please keep that color, I love it :thumbup: