VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 28 year veteran of long haul tractor trailer experience. I have never used electric brakes before, and have purchased a 2018 Atlas. I will be mainly pulling a travel trailer around BC, so it will be mountainous conditions. As I am used to air brakes, what are the differing factors when using electric brakes. With the 8 speed transmission, will I get any or much hold back in lower gears from the V6?

·
Registered
13 Posts
We’ve completed over 6500 k this summer with our Atlas and a 3300 lbs travel trailer.

The transmission does a great job of breaking the trailer when necessary.

Towing with electric brakes was new to me this year so I’ll outline a few things I learnt with the Atlas.

- There Atlas doesn’t come with a break controller. You will need to buy one but the wiring is in the Atlas already. The wiring harness is hidden under the plastic door plate to the left of the driver. Don’t fall for a wireless break controller you don’t need one.

- When using electric brakes there’s really not much to then once they are properly calibrated.

- This changes with each trip based on weight etc.

- The best tip for calibrating them goes as follows. Once hooked up and showing continuity - let your foot off the gas and let the Car coast - then apply the manual trailer break switch slowly until you reach max trailer brake settings. At this point the trailer should stop and hold the car’s forward motion. If it doesn’t or stops the car before you are at max braking adjust - rinse and repeat. I usually dial this back slightly once I’ve found the sweet spot.

- if you experience any trailer sway gently applying the trailer brakes manually (never the car brakes) will sort this out. This is important for us Atlas owners as sway control is out according to VW.

Cheers and enjoy!

Andrew

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·