VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My friend helped me install a greddy turbo timer into my 20th, but now my aftermarket alarm won't start when the turbo timer hits zero. I am not an expert on relay systems and electronics, but I thought maybe someone on here would have some helpful information that i could relay to my friend. thanks much-
jon

·
Registered
111 Posts
Re: Turbo Timer Problem (BLKjonnboyRBT)

If I knew how to post topics in a reply I'd hook you up, all I can say is work that search button bro, there are at least two answers to your problem out there... the one I'm going with is the companion... I like the option of being able to disable it by turning off the turbo timer for those dreaded dealer visits
... hopefully the guy with a link in his signature will chime in, wish I remembered his name

·
Banned
5,712 Posts

Quote, originally posted by BLKjonnboyRBT »
My friend helped me install a greddy turbo timer into my 20th, but now my aftermarket alarm won't start when the turbo timer hits zero. I am not an expert on relay systems and electronics, but I thought maybe someone on here would have some helpful information that i could relay to my friend. thanks much-
jon

Ha ha haaa thats funny!

·
Registered
363 Posts

Quote, originally posted by BLKjonnboyRBT »
jon

This site might help. This guy figured out a way that makes the alarm and turbo timer work at the same time.
http://vwroadtrip.peterbeers.n...s.htm

·
Registered
159 Posts
Re: Turbo Timer Problem (spoon8818)

My take on a turbo timer

Why do you need one??

From what I know they are installed to let the oil drain out of the turbo while the car is at idle after you shut the car off.
This draining of the oil while the car runs is suppose to legthen the life of the turbo and/or engine.
If VW and other car makers spend millions of dollars engineering these cars, why woulnt they engineer in the electronics to do this??

·
Registered