VW Vortex - Volkswagen Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is not about numbers. it is about efficiency with stock internals. i am new to the 1.8t platform, and i dont necessarily know the best parts to use but give them to me and i will install it.
i was wondering what bolt on turbos i can run with the stock internals. i am a poor college student and plan to do the installations myself. i also do plan to get some EMS i dont know who just yet though. remember i want to keep the stock internals, so no kits please. this will be run with a 2.5 catback and downpipe, so i dont want too big turbos that will run past efficiency. even better if anyone knows what cars i might want to look at for turbos that will bolt on if i go salvage yard hunting. i may not know what turbos exactly will bolt and run efficiently with stock internals, but i do know that 15psi on a bigger turbo is better performance than 15 psi on my small turbo, so that is why i just do not go with a chip. plus i love working with my hands and dont mind time under the car, i am a builder.
if anyone can help me with this thank you. i have done searches but it seems everyone is looking to talk about numbers, or are talking about kits.

·
Registered
469 Posts
Re: turbo upgrade question (bacek)

First of what do kits have to do with keeping stock internals?? Second off look for I belive name is MRP2001GTI or something close.
Check out vwturbo.com they have a kit starting around 2k. If you want to do custom, popular set ups now include either a t3/t4 and gt28rs ball bearing, to name a few. You will need a manifold, injectors, maf, all kind of lines, custom turn dp, and some sort of diode or softwear. Hope this helps a bit.

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
sorry i didnt mean internals i meant keeping the stock manifold plus the stock internals. sorry for the misunderstanding.